Guide to Unlock the Power of your Heart Chakra

Your chakras, or energy centers, govern the flow of energy within your body. There are seven main chakras in the body, which begin at the base of the spine and move upward to the tops of your head. 

These energy centers, which you cannot see with the naked eye, also correspond to the body's major organs. When you feel out of sorts in any of the seven main chakras areas, you will likely be able to correlate it back to an energy imbalance.

The heart chakra, or Anahata (unhurt), is located at the heart level at the center of the spine (find other chakra articles: Root Chakra, Sacral Chakra, Solar Plexus Chakra). It is not in proper alignment with the heart, which sits to the right of the chest's center.

When the heart chakra is in balance, one exudes love, compassion, and forgiveness. When your heart chakra is open, you will feel at peace with yourself, be connected to your true essence, and will be able to feel and embrace gratitude easily all around you.

When out of balance, feelings of low self-worth and issues with trust may be evident. One may discover they are feeling more fear than faith, struggle with receiving love, and grow over time to lead more with their head than their heart. We can expect these issues after a period of grief or betrayal. 

The mantra for the heart chakra is "I love" and is overall feminine in nature. Some say that the heart chakra ties together all the others, akin to the body and spirit. Do you have trouble trusting others because of past hurts? Do you find yourself thinking that you may never open yourself and become vulnerable to love again? If so, your heart chakra may need your love and attention because we all deserve great love, both of ourselves and others.

The physicality of your heart chakra out of balance can manifest as a lowered immune system, poor circulation, heart palpitations, and other various heart or lung imbalances. If your shoulders tend to round forward, which is a subconscious way to protect yourself, you may find yourself dealing with increased discomfort and pain in the upper back and neck. Pay extra close attention to how you carry yourself.

Crystals to Support the Heart Chakra

The color associated with the heart chakra is green. If you would like to utilize crystals to provide support, reach for jasper, green calcite, peridot, or rose quartz.

Affirmations of Support

Affirmations are positive statements that can be said quietly or out loud to challenge or work to overcome self-limiting beliefs or struggle. Here are a few examples of affirmations for the heart chakra:

-I live in balance, in a state of gratefulness and love.

-My love expands and grows as I trust and have faith in myself.

-My heart is open to giving and receiving love.

-I radiate loving vibrations to all.

Essential Oils for the Heart Chakra

Frankincense-Reach for the earthy aroma of Frankincense to help you get in touch with your emotions, find unlimited compassion for yourself, and know you are unequivocally worthy of love.

Lavender-Lavender essential oil is universal in its therapeutic uses and is beneficial for all seven chakras. We included it in our heart chakra blend as it is incredibly effective in calming strong emotions, enabling you to truly feel with your heart and get out of your head. Lavender assists in lowering the cortisol response during times of stress, helping you to release fear and heal your heart.

Ylang Ylang- The heady, exotic aroma of Ylang Ylang has been touted as a powerful aphrodisiac but is also very calming, making it beneficial during times of trauma and grief (Tarumi 2020). When Ylang Ylang is artfully blended with Lavender, Frankincense, and German Chamomile, you can experience enhanced self-expression and enthusiasm for self and life. 

Self-Care Tips

If you are dealing with a broken heart or suffer from a lack of trust and receiving love, try and incorporate a few of these practices into your life.

-Meditation is a powerful practice for the connection of your head and heart. In our world, we rarely give ourselves moments of contemplation and silence of thought. These quiet moments allow for deep healing and love.

-Nature is healing for all of us, in particular our heart. Forests are ideal, but if you do not have convenient access to one, do not fret. Take visits to parks, bodies of water, or other hideaways with lush greens and colorful flowers. Bring those very plants and flowers into your indoor space to nourish your heart and soul.

-To better receive love, we must practice giving our love to others. Practice kindness avoid judgment and permit yourself to share your feelings with those you trust. We are not meant to walk this life alone. Reaching out to another is one of the great gifts of self-care that we can bestow upon ourselves.

These tools and practices will help keep your heart chakra open and able to give and receive love, leaving you feeling more at peace and able to feel gratitude every day. 

Our De-Stress Blend helps to balance your Heart chakra along with our Heart Chakra  blend. 

Alright, darling, let’s sprinkle some daily candy vibes into this heart chakra journey. Imagine starting your day with a ritual that’s part soul-soothing, part cosmic dance party. Cue the essential oils—it’s like bottling up a hug from Mother Earth herself. Lavender to calm those vibes, ylang-ylang to open your heart wide, and maybe a dash of citrus to wake up those senses. Your morning routine just got an upgrade, honey, and your heart chakra? Oh, it’s singing.

Now, let’s talk about yoga. Not just any yoga—heart-opening yoga. We’re talking backbends that make you feel like you could hug the entire universe. Roll out your mat, breathe deep, and stretch into poses that whisper sweet nothings to your soul. Feel the tension melt away as you create space for love and compassion to flow freely. It’s like your body and spirit are having a heart-to-heart, and honey, it’s beautiful.

And when the day winds down, don’t forget to treat yourself like the royalty you are. Draw a bath fit for a goddess—think rose petals, soothing salts, and maybe a few candles to set the mood. Sink into the warm embrace of self-care, letting the water cleanse not just your body but your soul too. Close your eyes, feel the stress of the day drift away, and let your heart chakra bask in the glow of your love and attention. Because darling, you deserve nothing less than a heart chakra that shines brighter than the stars themselves.

Want to know more? The next chakra is the Throat Chakra.


Tarumi, W., & Shinohara, K. (2020). Olfactory Exposure to β-Caryophyllene Increases Testosterone Levels in Women's Saliva. Sexual Medicine, 8(3), 525-531. doi:10.1016/j.esxm.2020.06.001